Featuring the Webcomics and Graphic Novels, Fantasy and Sci-Fi by Mark Oakley!

What is, Thieves & Kings?

“Thoroughly engrossing self-published black-and white fantasy saga. [. . .] This is a story for fans of Bone, Elfquest, Nausicaa, or Harry Potter to fall in love with; highly recommended for teen and adult fantasy readers everywhere.”

   -The Library Journal

Learn about Mark Oakley and his work!

Read a 25 page
sample chapter!

Mark’s sci-fi Web Comic!

Stardrop! Featuring the space Princess Ashelle living on Earth.
Bi-weekly webcomic!

Email Me!

or write to. . .

I Box Publishing
#1 - 614 Main St.
Wolfville, NS  B4P 1E8

RSS News Feed RSS News Feed

Articles of Note:

MadMax and Tomorrowland - Reality Splitting Decisions...

The Mysterious meta-Jenny

I Will Not Hate Because You Want Me To

Response to Amazon and Kindle Direct Publishing

Art Software Review - OpenCanvas 6

Why Facebook is an unreliable tool for the Self Publisher

Three Questions from a Beginner Cartoonist

Comics in the New Media ~ How to Publish Comics on Tablets and eReaders Without Getting Ripped Off

Mark at the Movies:Superman, Man of Steel. Propaganda to dim the spirit and fan your fears.

Mark at the Movies: What do, Mirror Mirror, Hunger Games and Cabin in the Woods all have in common? More than you think!

Drawing Democracy

365 Days of Digital Cartooning - Drawing Comics on a Tablet PC

Tablet button bar Button for Photoshop / PaintTool Sai / MangaStudio5

Photoshop CS4 vs CS5 Speed Comparison for Tablet PC

Photoshop Speed-Up Trick for Digital Art

Portable Drafting Board - Drawing Comics Outdoors


   Stardrop. . .
Connect with me on Facebook!

Please subscribe for a buck a month. It's super-easy; see Patreon to find out how. -Now, don't worry; everything will remain free to read here, but I'm a full-time cartoonist living on the edge and volume counts. There are hundreds of folks reading, so those who are able, please consider chipping in. Those of you who have already extended your support, oh my goodness, Thank-You! It literally means the world to me!

Also.., Jenny Mysterious is now LIVE and will have regular weekly updates! Yessss! Been a long time coming. Jump to her section below. Thanks everybody!

New Episode #248 - Next Episode, Thursday November 26th
webcomic Stardrop by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com


Digital Editions Now Available

"High Resolution For Tablets!"
$8.25 CAD
Download Stardrop Volume 1    Download Stardrop Volume 2

-No DRM -No Hassles -Super High Quality -Whole Books with all the extras!

Technical note: I'm using a new sales system for this which doesn't require all kinds of complicated filling out of forms and such. The back-end magic is worked by Gumroad, an awesome new on-line system designed just for digital content; easy payment, reliable delivery, no mucking around. -And holy smokes! They play fair, taking 5% + 25 cents per transaction. Are you paying attention Apple and Amazon? This is how it's done.

NEW! Stardrop eBook
Now Available!

(See the Studio News (below) for the scoop on this!)

Tip StarDrop's cartoonist!

Visit the Australian StarDrop Mirror.
(Thanks to Andrew and Katherine for their wonderful support over the years!)

   Jenny Mysterious. . .
Friday, November 20th, 2015
New Pages posted - 45 to 474
I've decided to publish the long-talked about Jenny Mysterious free on-line, with new pages every week, starting right now! BUT I am asking folks to become Patrons. Please support my comics with as little or as much as you choose with a monthly subscription, (even just a dollar would be fine!). It's really easy. See my Patreon page for details.

-Check out the cool perks!

Thanks everybody!

webcomic Jenny Mysterious by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

   Thieves & Kings. . .

Sample Chapter from, Thieves & Kings, Volume 3, "The Blue Book"

Thieves & Kings, page from the graphic novel series by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

Thieves & Kings is not a webcomic. It's an all-ages fantasy/adventure graphic novel series which I've been working on since 1994. It is nearly done; I hope to wrap up the story in the 7th volume, (currently in production). The chapter featured here offers a good example of what it's like to read Thieves & Kings. --It's a peppy sequence, and it contains both regular comic pages, and some text pages. It doesn't show much of the title character, (Rubel) and none of the Shadow Lady, but Heath and Varkias carry the show quite nicely. I do hope you enjoy this sample of my work!

   The Walking Mage. . .

The Walking Mage webcomic #2 - Fired

The Walking Mage is a complete story. Originally it was done in black & white, (which you can check out here, if you like). I wanted to experiment with color and so began by using a computer to color the Walking Mage for its print release. After a few panels I decided that it would be a lot more fun to paint it by hand, and so switched to water-color around episode six.

The story itself is quite a good little yarn; funny and pointed in many places, as political satire ought to be. I was actually quite surprised to learn this! I found myself laughing out loud in several places. --I don't know why this story in particular was so hard for me to accept, but it was. I avoided reading it for several years after it first went to press. The ending is rather abrupt, but it was a serial strip, after all.

So anyway, after having let this web-comic languish in the digital attic, I've decided to pull it out and post it again for all the world in its full-color glory. This is the first time the Walking Mage has been available in full color on the web. I hope you enjoy the adventures of Quinton and Varkias. Cheers!

   News From the Studio. . .

Photoshop CS4 vs CS5 Speed Comparison for Tablet PC Artists

I made this video expressly for others who are also exploring the whole digital art. . , movement? I think we can call it that. Draw-on-the-screen tablets are game changers, and it's possible with these older tablets to experiment with these remarkable tools for not very much $$.

This drawing demonstration was done on a 1.7 Ghz Toshiba Tecra M4 Tablet PC running a comparison between Photoshop CS4 and CS5, testing for speed and stylus responsiveness.

I should note that I turned off all the bells and whistles, and did everything to maximize performance on the trial version of CS5 I was using in this comparison. In spite of this, CS5 = Fail, whereas CS4 continues to impress me. This doesn't mean that the latest Photoshop is a dud; it's not. It's a fine piece of software, but it just doesn't run smoothly enough on older hardware.

I should also note that the reason I'm using an old tablet like the Toshiba in this video is, very simply, that they just don't make 'em like they used to. That is to say, the screen size and pixel density are bigger numbers than can be found today in more modern machines. The problem is that, being an older tablet, the Tecra M4's processor is also slower, a single core chip, and the memory is limited to a maximum of 2 Gigs. This doesn't mean that the computer is useless; far from it. The Tecra is an excellent art machine capable of pro-level work, but it does mean that you have to choose your software with its limits in mind, and Photoshop is just such a case.

I hope this video proves useful to anybody else out there who is experimenting with Photoshop and digital comics on an older machine. The older machines are a low-cost way to experiment with digital art, but if you use the most current version of Photoshop, you'll be disappointed in the results.

Please let me know your thoughts or if you have any questions, please post them either in the YouTube comment section or over on the Tablet PC forum.



-Mark Oakley
July 27th, 2011


      Previous Comment       News Archive




Click on a book cover to learn more about it!

Over-Seas customers, please inquire about shipping costs.

-Otherwise, I'll ship via sea mail; costs about half and takes 4-8 weeks. Thanks!

Read the back cover

The Red Book Vol.1
(154 Pages)
cover price: $18.95
ISBN 0-9681025-0-6
Pay: $15.00 CAN  

Read the back cover
The Green Book Vol.2
(260 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-1-4
Pay: $20.00 CAN  


Instead receive all the back-issues which went into this volume for the same price.

Read the back cover
The Blue Book Vol.3
(184 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-2-2
Pay: $19.99 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Shadow Book Vol.4
(272 pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-3-0
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Winter Book Vol.5
(208 pgs)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-4-9
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Apprentices, Book I
Thieves & Kings Vol.6
(104 pgs)
cover price: $15.00
ISBN 0-9681025-6-5
Out of Print
Read the back cover
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
The Walking Mage
64 pgs      ISBN 0-9681025-5-7
Full Color

$11.00 CAN

Listen to Sample Tracks
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
Music from Oceansend

$19.99 CAN

(192 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-7-2


Stardrop Vol 2
"A Place to Hang My Spacesuit"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-8-9



The Stardrop Graphic Novel now available for eReaders!
Kindle, iPad, Android and other devices.

To finalize a PayPal purchace or just see what you've ordered so far, click the "View Cart" button

Shipping Charges explained.