Webcomics and Graphic Novels, Fantasy and Sci-Fi by Mark Oakley!
tk_banner
rubel_on_rooftop


What is, Thieves & Kings?

“Thoroughly engrossing self-published black-and white fantasy saga. [. . .] This is a story for fans of Bone, Elfquest, Nausicaa, or Harry Potter to fall in love with; highly recommended for teen and adult fantasy readers everywhere.”

   -The Library Journal

Learn about Mark Oakley and his work!

pages
Read a 25 page
sample chapter!





Mark’s sci-fi Web Comic!

Stardrop! Featuring the space Princess Ashelle living on Earth.
Bi-weekly webcomic!

Email Me!


or write to. . .

I Box Publishing
#1 - 614 Main St.
Wolfville, NS  B4P 1E8
Canada



RSS News Feed RSS News Feed


Articles of Note:

Response to Amazon and Kindle Direct Publishing


Art Software Review - OpenCanvas 6


Why Facebook is an unreliable tool for the Self Publisher


Three Questions from a Beginner Cartoonist


Comics in the New Media ~ How to Publish Comics on Tablets and eReaders Without Getting Ripped Off


Mark at the Movies:Superman, Man of Steel. Propaganda to dim the spirit and fan your fears.


Mark at the Movies: What do, Mirror Mirror, Hunger Games and Cabin in the Woods all have in common? More than you think!


Drawing Democracy


365 Days of Digital Cartooning - Drawing Comics on a Tablet PC


UPDATED!
Tablet button bar Button for Photoshop / PaintTool Sai / MangaStudio5


Photoshop CS4 vs CS5 Speed Comparison for Tablet PC


Photoshop Speed-Up Trick for Digital Art


Portable Drafting Board - Drawing Comics Outdoors

 

 
   Stardrop. . .
 
 
   Jenny Mysterious. . .

First Day Back

Webcomic Jenny_Mysterious by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

 
 
   Thieves & Kings. . .

Sample Chapter from, Thieves & Kings, Volume 3, "The Blue Book"

Thieves & Kings, page from the graphic novel series by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

Thieves & Kings is not a webcomic. It is an all-ages fantasy/adventure graphic novel series which I've been working on since 1994. It is nearly done; I hope to wrap up the story in the 7th volume, (currently in production). The chapter featured here offers a good example of what it's like to read Thieves & Kings. --It's a peppy sequence, and it contains both regular comic pages, and some text pages. It doesn't show much of the title character, (Rubel) and none of the Shadow Lady, but Heath and Varkias carry the show quite nicely. I hope you enjoy this sample of my work!

 
 
   The Walking Mage. . .

The Walking Mage webcomic #2 - Fired

The Walking Mage is a complete story. Originally it was done in black & white, (which you can check out here, if you like). I wanted to experiment with color and so began by using a computer to color the Walking Mage for its print release. After a few panels I decided that it would be a lot more fun to paint it by hand, and so switched to water-color around episode six.

The story itself is quite a good little yarn; funny and pointed in many places, as political satire ought to be. I was actually quite surprised to learn this! I found myself laughing out loud in several places. --I don't know why this story in particular was so hard for me to accept, but it was. I avoided reading it for several years after it first went to press. The ending is rather abrupt, but it was a serial strip, after all.

So anyway, after having let this web-comic languish in the digital attic, I've decided to pull it out and post it again for all the world in its full-color glory. This is the first time the Walking Mage has been available in full color on the web. I hope you enjoy the adventures of Quinton and Varkias. Cheers!

 
 
   News From the Studio. . .
Mysterious Wolfville and Loud Books
 

Thursday,
November 18, 2014

So, check this out:

It's raining and I have just bought eggs. I'm wet and not looking forward to the hike home, and so I duck into T.A.N. cafe. -I've not been there more than five or six times over the past half year; been terribly unsocial, so I've been putting in an effort to visit more frequently.

Anyway, today was Cold, Wet and Miserable outside, and Warm, Dry and Friendly inside. Perfect for a coffee shop visit.

Except I'd just gone out for eggs, not to drink coffee. I had no backpack, nothing with me to work on or read or anything. And nobody I knew was in the little cafe to chat with, which makes visiting a coffee shop a little dull. You just sit there sipping coffee with nothing to do. And so...

There's a little collection of magazines and books by the window. -Kind of like the collection you'd see in a doctor's office, except not wilting into that dog-eared variety of despair ancient "TIME" Magazines exhibit. They had cooler stuff. Among the offerings was this book, (pictured). "Under Heaven" by Guy Gavriel Kay.

Big, recent title, famous Canadian author. Never read any of his work. Time to reverse this embarrassing little fact.

The book is good! Really! It *spoke* to me. -And this is a little grim, but stick with me: It starts off with the story of a hermit living deep in a desolate part of 9th Dynasty Imperial China, working in isolation every day to dig graves in order to bury the bones of dead soldiers who had died in a monumental battle years earlier. A mad, impossible task, (40,000 men died in that particular war), but one he felt a deep connection with at least chipping at. "Just because you can never finish, do you never start?"

The two empires view his activity with a cautious respect; he is burying the dead of both sides with no concern for nationality, and nobody else is brave enough to venture among the dead to put them to rest. China fears the spirit world. When the story begins, he has been out there for a couple of years and is now at the tail end of his period of isolation; the world is crashing in. It is time to launch back into the high energy of the civilized world and the next phase of his life. He has earned a kind of monastic wisdom and calm power. Digging the frozen northern earth has made him strong, but there are assassins and lovers and friends and money and power waiting to drown him upon his return. Yikes! That's the part I just got to. I feel like that's been my life and that the changes coming are similar in scope.

(My finger is hovering over the "Send" button on a big project which has taken two freakin' years of work to compile. And just two days ago, I had, out of the blue, a Japanese publisher express interest in re-printing some of my books. I've not yet responded to them. Thinking...)

So I'm engrossed in this story. After two hours and a half inch of newsprint deep into the volume, it's time to go home. Also, I realize that I'm going to be stealing the coffee shop copy of Kay's book. -I've had enough of the Stardrop and Thieves & Kings GN's I put in coffee shops walk home with people in a similar manner, so I figure I'm owed a book or two. (I'll bring it back when I'm done, I swear.)

Anyway... here's the point to this story:

I didn't see it until I got home to crack open my stolen booty for another chapter, that somebody had written my name on the first page.

Yeah.

Apparently, this book really *was* meant for me.

Also, it's why I believe in the power of mysterious, deep psychological and material connections moving unseen through life, and through this town in particular.

Every day something like this happens, but this one stood out a bit more than usual. Figured I'd share.

Cheers!

 
 


 

Click on a book cover to learn more about it!

Over-Seas customers, please inquire about shipping costs.

Read the back cover

The Red Book Vol.1
(154 Pages)
cover price: $18.95
ISBN 0-9681025-0-6
Pay: $15.00 CAN  


Read the back cover
The Green Book Vol.2
(260 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-1-4
Pay: $20.00 CAN  

OUT OF STOCK!

Instead receive all the back-issues which went into this volume for the same price.


Read the back cover
The Blue Book Vol.3
(184 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-2-2
Pay: $19.99 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Shadow Book Vol.4
(272 pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-3-0
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Winter Book Vol.5
(208 pgs)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-4-9
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Apprentices, Book I
Thieves & Kings Vol.6
(104 pgs)
cover price: $15.00
ISBN 0-9681025-6-5
Pay: $15.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
The Walking Mage
64 pgs      ISBN 0-9681025-5-7
Full Color

$11.00 CAN

Listen to Sample Tracks
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
Riverwolf
Music from Oceansend

$19.99 CAN


Stardrop
(192 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-7-2

Now Only $10.00!


Stardrop Vol 2
"A Place to Hang My Spacesuit"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-8-9

$12.95


NEW!

The Stardrop Graphic Novel now available for eReaders!
Kindle, iPad, Android and other devices.
$4.95


To finalize a PayPal purchace or just see what you've ordered so far, click the "View Cart" button

Shipping Charges explained.