Featuring the Webcomics and Graphic Novels, Fantasy and Sci-Fi by Mark Oakley!

 

tk_banner
rubel_on_rooftop


What is, Thieves & Kings?

“Thoroughly engrossing self-published black-and white fantasy saga. [. . .] This is a story for fans of Bone, Elfquest, Nausicaa, or Harry Potter to fall in love with; highly recommended for teen and adult fantasy readers everywhere.”

   -The Library Journal



JENNY MYSTERIOUS


Page Number
(Latest material
pages 21-25)

 


Email Me!


or write to. . .

I Box Publishing
#1 - 614 Main St.
Wolfville, NS  B4P 1E8
Canada



RSS News Feed RSS News Feed

 

 
   Stardrop. . .
 
 
   Jenny Mysterious. . .

First Day Back

Webcomic Jenny_Mysterious by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

 
 
   Thieves & Kings. . .

Sample Chapter from, Thieves & Kings, Volume 3, "The Blue Book"

Thieves & Kings, page from the graphic novel series by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

Thieves & Kings is not a webcomic. It is an all-ages fantasy/adventure graphic novel series which I've been working on since 1994. It is nearly done; I hope to wrap up the story in the 7th volume, (currently in production). The chapter featured here offers a good example of what it's like to read Thieves & Kings. --It's a peppy sequence, and it contains both regular comic pages, and some text pages. It doesn't show much of the title character, (Rubel) and none of the Shadow Lady, but Heath and Varkias carry the show quite nicely. I hope you enjoy this sample of my work!

 
 
   The Walking Mage. . .

The Walking Mage webcomic #2 - Fired

The Walking Mage is a complete story. Originally it was done in black & white, (which you can check out here, if you like). I wanted to experiment with color and so began by using a computer to color the Walking Mage for its print release. After a few panels I decided that it would be a lot more fun to paint it by hand, and so switched to water-color around episode six.

The story itself is quite a good little yarn; funny and pointed in many places, as political satire ought to be. I was actually quite surprised to learn this! I found myself laughing out loud in several places. --I don't know why this story in particular was so hard for me to accept, but it was. I avoided reading it for several years after it first went to press. The ending is rather abrupt, but it was a serial strip, after all.

So anyway, after having let this web-comic languish in the digital attic, I've decided to pull it out and post it again for all the world in its full-color glory. This is the first time the Walking Mage has been available in full color on the web. I hope you enjoy the adventures of Quinton and Varkias. Cheers!

 
 
   News From the Studio. . .
February 7th, 2013

Hey, I've Got An Idea!


Remember when comics were fun? -I don't mean individual issues or a good book now and again, but I mean, "Wow! I Can't wait, to get down to the comic shop/drug store spinner rack for the next issue!"

Now. . , remember "The Wednesday Comics"? It wasn't that long ago, actually. Let me jog your memory. . .

The Wednesday Comics shipped as full newspapers folded into quarters. When you unfolded them they were huge. Dive in and go swimming huge. They had a dozen or so continuing stories, one page dedicated to each. DC launched The Wednesday Comics back in 2009 as a specialty project; they spent a lot of money hiring on big names to write and draw short stories for the project. It ran it for 12 weeks.

Well, Brothers and Sisters, let me tell you; It was easily the most exciting thing to happen to the whole darned tootin' comics industry in more than a decade. It wasn't necessarily brilliant. Some of the stories were fun, some were less so, and you could see in several cases the artists struggling to come to grips with the giant-sized page-an-episode format. It was fledgling stuff. That made it exciting. But I was dumbstruck when I realized that the Wednesday Comics were only meant to run for a few weeks and then just. . . stop. Forever. It was a one-time deal. Flash in the pan; didn't exist for long enough to become significant.

What I'd love to see. . .

I'd love to see a regular production like that happen again, but this time in earnest. Start up and not quit. In fact, every now and then I think maybe it would be within the realm of possibility to launch something along those lines myself. Get a bunch of talent together, tell them, "One strip per week. Fill the world with visions and wonders one giant newspaper page at a time. Go!"

Print only. No freakin' iCrap. You want to read it, you need to wear a shirt and shoes.

(Also, you can't fit a story page that large on any of those ridiculous little screens.)

Weekly publishing schedule, a buck an issue, or heck, make it free with advertisements... You get one just for walking in the comic shop! Instant mass readership. -Tell good stories, and that becomes a dedicated readership. It would be a stand-out format because *nobody* is doing anything even remotely like it.

In the right hands, with the right minds, with the right distribution mechanism, (all entirely possible), I think it could transform the whole industry into something bright and sparkling and fun again.

Just picture it: people visiting their comic shop every week out of habit?

Sales of *everything* would go up as a result.

Now wouldn't that be cool? You heard it here first.

Mark Oakley
Wolfville, NS
Feb 7, 2014

 
 


 

Click on a book cover to learn more about it!

Over-Seas customers, please inquire about shipping costs.

Read the back cover

The Red Book Vol.1
(154 Pages)
cover price: $18.95
ISBN 0-9681025-0-6
Pay: $15.00 CAN  


Read the back cover
The Green Book Vol.2
(260 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-1-4
Pay: $20.00 CAN  

OUT OF STOCK!

Instead receive all the back-issues which went into this volume for the same price.


Read the back cover
The Blue Book Vol.3
(184 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-2-2
Pay: $19.99 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Shadow Book Vol.4
(272 pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-3-0
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Winter Book Vol.5
(208 pgs)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-4-9
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Apprentices, Book I
Thieves & Kings Vol.6
(104 pgs)
cover price: $15.00
ISBN 0-9681025-6-5
Pay: $15.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
The Walking Mage
64 pgs      ISBN 0-9681025-5-7
Full Color

$11.00 CAN

Listen to Sample Tracks
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
Riverwolf
Music from Oceansend

$19.99 CAN


Stardrop
(192 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-7-2

Now Only $10.00!


Stardrop Vol 2
"A Place to Hang My Spacesuit"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-8-9

$12.95


NEW!

The Stardrop Graphic Novel now available for eReaders!
Kindle, iPad, Android and other devices.
$4.95


To finalize a PayPal purchace or just see what you've ordered so far, click the "View Cart" button

Shipping Charges explained.